Bach & Vivaldi Masterworks Concert

by Carolyn Peterson
(Las Vegas. NV)

Thomas Hydes, Bass-Baritone

Thomas Hydes, Bass-Baritone

Sunday March 24th! The Southern Nevada Musical Arts Society’s 56th Season spring Masterworks Concert performed by the Musical Arts Chorus, Orchestra, and guest soloists features J. S. Bach's “Wachet auf, ruft uns die Stimme (Awake, calls the voice to us), Cantata 140,” and Vivaldi's “Gloria RV 589.”

Guest soloists include soprano, Suzanne Russell; contralto, Valeria Sokolova; tenor, Robert Peterson; and bass-baritone, Thomas Hydes.

“Cantata 140” known widely as “Sleepers Awake” is one of the world's outstanding masterworks and one of Bach’s most mature and admired sacred cantatas. It is based on the hymn "Wachet auf, ruft uns die Stimme" (1599) by Philipp Nicolai. The “Gloria” is one of Vivaldi’s familiar and popular works. The piece’s delightful sunny nature, with its distinctive melodies and rhythms, is characteristic of his music.

This concert is the second of two masterworks concerts in Southern Nevada Musical Arts Society’s 56th season and marks Dr. Peterson's 51st year as Music Director of SNMAS, Nevada’s distinguished Choral/Orchestra Society and longest running arts organization!

This program is sponsored by John E. Tucker and made possible in part by the Nevada Arts Council, a state agency, and the National Endowment for the Arts, a federal agency. The Southern Nevada Musical Arts Society is a 501(c)(3) non-profit community organization.

Admission is $20 for adults; $15 for seniors, disabled, and military; and $10 for students with ID. Tickets are available at the door starting at 2 p.m. the day of the performance. For more information call (702-796-6672) or visit

Click here to post comments

Join in and write your own page! It's easy to do. How? Simply click here to return to Post Your Las Vegas Event.